



FOR PSA MEMBERS: DEPARTMENT OF MINERAL RESOURCES AND ENERGY (DMRE)

02-10-2020

Disestablishments of DOE/DMR Chambers and establishment of DMRE Chamber

After the announcement on 14 June 2019 of the configuration of certain Governments' Institutions, the merging of the Departments of Energy and Mineral Resources was realised. The intention of the configuration was to review the size and composition of the institutions to render the Government services more efficiently. Subsequently, parties within the GPSSBC concluded Resolution 1/2020 to give effect to the announcement to make government services more cost effective, owing to the budgetary constraints on the fiscus of the country. Clauses 4.1.4 and 4.1.5 provided for the disestablishment of the national departments.

It also provided for the transitional arrangements of populating all activities from previous Chambers to newly established Chambers. All items and respective minutes would be consolidated by the Secretary for circulation to parties.

Furthermore, Clause 16 (1) of the GPSSBC Resolution 1/2012 and the Governance Rules of the Chambers provides for the determination of vote weights as at 31 December 2019. They are as follows:

- □ PSA with a membership of 588 which converts to 42,09%
- □ NEHAWU is having 803 members which constitute 57,48% and
- POPCRU with 6 member converts to 0,43%

After a successful caucus meeting, the following nominations were announced:

- It was agreed to have the Council continue chairing the Chamber
- Deputy Chairperson: Labour is Mr. Jabulani Lusenga
- Deputy Chairperson: Employer is Mr. Kwena Makgohlo

Members are urged to assist the existing transitional PSA Branch in protecting your rights and interests by alerting them of any discrepancies, through recruitment of additional members to widen the scope of monitoring the employer through them.

Any challenges experienced during this transitional period must be brought to the attention of : Mr. Ncedisa Mahala at *Ncedisa.Mahala@dmre.gov.za*; Messrs. Goitsemang Sekwati at *Goitsemang.Sekwati@dmre.gov.za*, Phumla Dingiswayo at *Phumla.Dingiswayo@dmre.gov.za*; Mr. Jeffery Maluleke at *Jeffery.maluleke@dmre.gov.za* until further notice and/or Ms Janta Shortie at *janta.shortie@psa.co.za*, Arnold Dlamini at *arnold.dlamini@psa.co.za*

Members will be kept informed.

GENERAL MANAGER