

MEDIA RELEASE

The PSA notes the appointment of 3 Deputy Director Generals from within the

National Treasury ranks

DATE 30 May 2025

EMBARGO NONE

ENQUIRIES communication@psa.co.za

The Public Servants Association (PSA), the majority Union at the National Treasury, notes the appointment of three Deputy Director Generals within the Department's ranks, which is viewed as adhering to internal succession plans. These appointments reflect a commitment to maintaining institutional memory whilst infusing innovation and fresh perspective.

The PSA has always advocated that strong leadership within the pipeline of talented, skilled and experienced public service professionals is essential to serving the nation effectively. These appointments, announced by the Cabinet on Thursday, 23 May 2025, include Ulrike Britton as Deputy Director General for Public Finance, Ogalaletseng Gaarekwe as Deputy Director General for Intergovernmental Relations (IGR), and Christopher Axelson as the Deputy Director General for Tax and Financial Sector Policy.

The PSA wants to congratulate Ulrike Britton, a seasoned employee of the National Treasury since 2006, Ogalaletseng Gaarekwe, who joined the National Treasury in 2009 and Christopher Axelson, who resumed her career at the National Treasury in 2012, with prior experience from the private banking sector.

The PSA would also like to assure the newly appointed DDGs that the Union will give them the support they require from the labour movement if they utilise their acquired skills to the benefit of the department and the nation at large. The PSA would also like to encourage them to impart the knowledge they gained over the years within the financial sector to junior staff within National Treasury to ensure that institutional memory is not lost but preserved.

END

